



Congratulations to Award Recipients from Academic Assembly 2023

Program Awards

Program Coordinator of the Year

Christina Tarleton
Johns Hopkins University

Faculty Teaching Award

Guy Carmelli, MD, FACEP University of Massachusetts

Resident Academic Achievement Award

Axel Adams, MD, FACEP University of Washington

Dr. Marcus Martin Scholarship Award

Oyin Okubanjo, MD Advocate Christ Medical Center

Dr. Louis Ling Scholarship Award

Tamara Wilson, MD Baylor College of Medicine

Longevity Awards - 5 Years

Shannon Alwood, MD LSU Health Sciences Center

Chad Branecki, MDUniversity of Nebraska Medical Center

Terrell Cafferty, MD LSU Health Sciences Center

> Jay Ladde, MD Orlando Health

Payal Shah, MD Beaumont Health Ross Berkeley, MD University of Nevada, Las Vegas SOM

> Nikolai Butki, DO McLaren Oakland

Mary Haas, MD, MHPE University of Michigan

Patrick Lank, MD, MS Northwestern University

Josef Thundiyil, MD Orlando Health

Christian Young, MDUniversity of Nevada, Las Vegas SOM

Longevity Awards – 10 Years

Jay Khadpe, MD
University of Florida College of Medicine Jacksonville

Patricia Petrella Nouhan, MD, FACEP Ascension – St John Hospital

> Jose Ramirez, MD Orlando Health

Aleksandr Tichter, MD New York –Presbyterian Hospital

Longevity Awards – 15 Years

David Della-Giustina, MD Yale School of Medicine

Carlos Garcia-Gubern, MD Hospital Episcopal San Lucas Ponce

Scott Melanson, MD St. Luke's University Health Network

Longevity Awards – 20 Years

Thomas Perera, MD Northwell Zucker @LIJ/NS

Longevity Awards - 25 Years

Marc Borenstein, MD Vassar Brothers Medical Center Nuvance Health

Alan Janssen, DO Ascension Genesys Hospital

Coordinator Longevity Award – 10 Years

Niki Hagen University of Wisconsin

Academy Award Winners

Academy Scholar Award in Teaching and Evaluation

Jeanette Kurbedin, DO

Academy Member Award in Teaching and Evaluation

Kimbia Arno, MD

FirstUp! Speaker Competition

Riddhi Desai, DO
"Turn Fatigue into Flow: How to Stay Ahead of Decision Paralysis."

Business Meeting Awards

Michael P. Wainscott Program Director Award

Fiona Gallahue, MDThe University of Washington

Organization of Program Director Associations

Elise O. Lovell, MD Advocate Christ Medical Center

Poster Awards

Innovations

First Place: Tie

Multimodal Rural Emergency Medicine Curriculum: Preparing Residents for Rural Practice

Ashley Weisman, Richard Bounds, and Skyler Lentz Manual Uterine Aspiration (MUA) Simulation for Emergency Medicine (EM) Residents

Catherine Wegman and Caroline Gorka

Research

Undergraduate Medical Education

Winner:

Analysis of Emergency Medicine Clerkship Grades by Identification as URiM vs. non-URiM

Kevin Walsh, Joseph House, Laura Hopson, and Elizabeth Holman Runner Up:

Non-NCAT-EM Evaluations Positively Skew eSLOE Entrustability Scores

Erin Karl, Sharon Bord, Doug Franzen, Cullen Hegarty, and Katherine Hiller

Graduate Medical Education

Winner:

The Impact of Self Scheduling on Intern Wellness

John Marshall, Patrick Maloy, and David Jones

Runner Up:

Expanding DEI Curricula in Emergency
Medicine Graduate Medical Education: A Pilot
Innovation Project

Whitney Johnson, Leah Bauer, and Xian Li

CPC Winners

Division 1

- Resident
 - Winner: Shelby Parker (University of Rochester Strong Memorial Hospital)
 - o Runner-up: David Rudolph (John Hopkins SOM)
- Faculty
 - Winner: Evan Laveman (UHS Southern California Medical)
 - o Runner-up: Travis Hase (Advocate Christ Medical Center)

Division 2

- Resident
 - Winner: Jiayin Sun (Stanford University)
 - o Runner-up: Zachary Wynne (University of Maryland Medical Center EM/IM)
- Faculty
 - o Winner: Eric Schmitt (University of California San Francisco Fresno)
 - o Runner-up: Courtney Cassella (Reading Hospital, Tower Health)

Division 3

- Resident
 - Winner: Aakash Naik (William Beaumont University Hospital)
 - Runner-up: Emily Goins (Northwestern University)
- Faculty
 - Winner: Rupinder Sekhon (HAEMR Beth Israel Deaconess)
 - o Runner-up: Steven Joseph (William Beaumont University Hospital)

Division 4

- Resident
 - Winner: Seth Laymon (Jacobi Montefiore EM)
 - o Runner-up: Christopher Riviello (Albert Einstein Medical Center)
- Faculty
 - Winner: Marissa Koning (MetroHealth)
 - Runner-up: Kaila Pomeranz (University of Iowa EM Residency Program)

Division 5

- Resident
 - Winner: Jeffrey Herrala (Highland Hospital)
 - o Runner-up: Emily Leede (McGovern Medical School at UTHealth)
- Faculty
 - Winner: Mollie Williams (The Brooklyn Hospital Center)
 - Runners-up: Weeden Bauman (Maine Medical Center) & Minh Evans (Nazareth Hospital)

Division 6

- Resident
 - Winner: Jeremy Brown (Baylor College of Medicine EM)
 - Runner-up: Batsheva Sholomson (Staten Island University Hospital Northwell Health)
- Faculty
 - Winner: Simone Miller (University of New Mexico)
 - o Runner-up: Joel Kravitz (Rutgers Health/Community Medical)