Academy Award

The CORD Academy for Scholarship in Education in Emergency Medicine is pleased to offer the Academy Award to outstanding educators who have met rigorous standards of academic excellence within the last five years.  This award is in effect for five years during which awardees are asked to mentor and support academic excellence and scholarship in emergency medicine education within CORD.  Awardees can reapply for the award at the end of the five year period. 

The purpose of the CORD Academy for Scholarship in Education in Emergency Medicine is to:

  1. Foster and value the scholarship of teaching and learning. 
  2. Provide role modeling and support for educators in emergency medicine education programs. 
  3. Foster networking and collaboration among institutions of emergency medicine education by providing a forum for the exchange of ideas about educational endeavors including teaching, evaluation, curriculum design and implementation, faculty development and educational research.

Thus, this Academy Award supports the mission of the Academy by recognizing those educators who have an exemplary record of achievement in emergency medicine education and advancing the development of a network of mentors for future growth in emergency medicine education scholarship.

Applications for the award are assessed once a year after the nomination deadline. Each candidate's mini-portfolio, including CV in the required format, should be submitted electronically on the Nomination Form to CORD on or before the deadline.  Award recipients will be announced at the CORD Annual Academic Assembly.

Please click a link below for more information on the Academy award and to apply.

Academy Award Standards

View the standards for the Academy Award.

Academy Award Expectations

View the expectations for academy awardees.

Application Process

Submit an application for the Academy Award or learn more about the application process. Deadline for applications is January 7, 2019 at 5:00 PM Eastern.

Organization of the Academy

Information on the organization of the Academy.

Reference Material

View reference material for the Academy award.

Award Winners

View previous Academy and Legacy Mentor Award winners.

NOTE:  The CORD Academy for Scholarship in Education in Emergency Medicine is significantly indebted to educators at Baylor College of Medicine under the leadership of Nancy Searle, EdD, Director, Fulbright & Jaworski Faculty Excellence Award Program, for their development of a faculty academy model which reflects a grounding in the literature regarding educational scholarship and a rigor and transparency in their selection process. This Academy is also indebted to the National Academy of Osteopathic Medical Educators (NAOME), and to Linda Heun, PhD, Vice President for Medical Education, who provided additional guidance for the process for the establishment of a successful Academy and the Academy Award.  They also provided much of the content and information for this website.