Mini-Fellowship in Wellness Leadership

Mini-Fellowship in Wellness Leadership

The application season will open in winter 2022.

Mini-Fellowship in Wellness Leadership 

This mini-fellowship was created to provide opportunities to develop academic skills and leadership in the area of wellness and resilience for residents in their final year of training.  The mini-fellowship spans one year between Academic Assemblies.  Each resident fellow will be responsible for the development, completion, and presentation of a longitudinal wellness project with guidance from the mini-fellowship leadership and a mentor.  The final project is to be presented during the Academic Assembly poster session the following year.

The mini-fellowship includes:

  • A half-day workshop at CORD Academic Assembly
  • A series of online lectures and discussions occurring every other month throughout the year
  • Regular (minimum monthly) contact with the CORD mentor
  • Membership in the CORD Resilience Committee
  • Presentation of mini-fellowship research or innovations at the poster session.  (must submit the abstract and be accepted)
  • Graduation certificate

Please email or a member of the fellowship leadership team (see below) with any questions.

2021-2022 Leadership

Christine Stehman, MD
UICOMP/OSF Healthcare
Department of Emergency Medicine     
Al’ai Alvarez, MD
Stanford University
Department of Emergency Medicine

Assistant Director, Mentorship: Loice Swisher, MD    

Resilience Committee Chair: Andy Grock, MD

 2020-2021 Fellows: 

Jessica Barlow, MD San Antonio Uniformed Services Health Education Consortium
Meredith Busman, MD Spectrum Health/Michigan State University
Lily Daniel, DO Virginia Commonwealth University
Megan Gillespie, DO Jefferson Health Northeast (formerly Aria Health)
Rashmi Jadhav, MD Brandon Regional Hospital
Noella Richman, MD Vanderbilt University Medical Center
Lauran Wirfs, DO Rush University Medical Center

 Previous Fellows:

2019-2020 Mini Fellows Personal Statements

2018-2019 Mini Fellows Personal Statements

Bimonthly Didactics sessions/journal clubs will be held on the 3rd Wednesday of odd months starting in May 2021. Fellows will be expected to attend all the sessions (unless arranged ahead of time with the mini-fellowship leadership).

Mentors are solicited from CORD membership (mostly from the Resilience Committee) and will provide guidance to the fellow on creating and implementing their project.  

2020-2021 mentors:
Ryan Bodkin, MD
Simiao Li-Sauerwine, MD, MS
Jennifer Mitzman, MD
Andy Grock, MD
Gregory Guldner, MD
Ramin Tabatabai, MD
Mohamad Moussa, MD
Adam Kellogg, MD
Ryan Clark, DO
James Waymack, MD
Sorabh Khandelwal, MD
Nicole Battaglioli, MD
Laryssa Patti, MD

For more information about the fellowship, please click here.

For the 2021-2022 fellowship, eight (8) rising senior residents will be selected to participate. A program fee of $100 will be collected at the time of application and will be refunded to anyone not selected for the program.